bankermtg

Just another WordPress.com site

My Adventures Through the World of Binary

on March 22, 2012

Three years back when I lost my job in Mortgage Banking,I could not have  conceived of  writing this blog. Heck, I did not know the definition of the word Blog. My experience with the computer consisted of emails and working with canned programs. When I could not complete my resume in Word , I knew that I was in trouble. I decided that I would return to school to learn Microsoft Office. My plan was to  take  one course in Word and one in Excel. One thing led  to  the next and soon I had completed the series of Word, Excel, and Access. In Access and Excel 3  the class started working with   SQL and Visual Basic. I became hooked . I wanted more. This will be the story of my metamorphosis. I want to document my progress through the programs that I write, research done on topics in IT , and my feelings as I go through this process. Be advised that I am not a young student. I have spent twenty plus years in Mortgage Banking. I hope that you enjoy reading about my successes and failures. My progress and  regressions. This series is meant for those of you who are considering change  as well as for those of you that have already stepped into this land. Feel free to correct programming errors, tighten code and comment on articles written.


6 responses to “My Adventures Through the World of Binary

  1. Marilyn says:

    I can certainly relate to your going back to school after losing a job and being experienced in one industry. The same thing happened to me and although I would much prefer to be working, I’ve really learned alot from the courses I’ve taken at MATC.

    Like

  2. Mary Luckett says:

    Marilyn,

    I would certainly prefer to be working. I spent 20+ years learning my craft. However, going back to school has been an eye opener. The world is changing. I think the biggest unemployment problem is structural unemployment (mismatch). I hope that a tech degree will make me a better match for the available jobs.

    Like

  3. 水泳 says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with
    the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify
    it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare
    to see a great blog like this one these days.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the
    layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you
    customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

    Like

  5. Hi there, of course this post is actually pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

    Like

  6. Thankfulneѕs to my father who informed me regarding this Ƅlog,
    this webpage is trulky awеsome.

    Like

Leave a comment